2012 NEWLA All-Conference Teams Announced

2012 NEWLA All-Conference Teams Announced

The New England Women’s Lacrosse Alliance has announced its post-season honors. In a vote by the conference coaches, Westfield State senior midfielder Carly Keeley was named NEWLA Offensive Player of the Year. Keeley ranked among the league leaders with 29 goals, 12 assists and 39 draw controls with 8 of 10 free position shots converted during conference competition. The senior is a three time all-conference first team honoree leading the Owls to a 7-1 conference record.

Bridgewater State defender Shelby Farland was honored as the NEWLA Defensive Player of the Year. During conference play, the junior caused five turnovers and picked up 19 ground balls while scoring twice from her defensive position for the Bears. Farland led the Bears defense and transition with her speed as Bridgewater surrendered just 5.38 goals per game during league play enroute to a perfect 8-0 mark in conference play.

Playing in her first season of collegiate lacrosse, Elms senior goalkeeper Rachel Schrutt earned NEWLA Rookie of the Year and NEWLA Goalkeeper of the Year honors. In eight league games, Schrutt registered 134 saves and ranked third in the conference with a .511 savepercentage. In addition to her abilities in the net, Schrutt picked up 37 groundballs and caused eight turnovers. 

Salem State's Catherine O'Neill was selected the NEWLA Scholar-Athlete of the Year. The senior defender has kept a 4.0 GPA in Accounting while serving as a leader on the Vikings defense. O'Neill collected 15 ground balls with two caused turnovers in conference play.

Salem State's Tara Sartori was named NEWLA Coach of the Year. In their first year in the conference, Sartori led the Vikings to a 4-4 mark. Massachusetts Maritime was honored with the Team Sportsmanship Award. NEWLA all-conference selections are determined by a vote of the conference coaches.

2012 NEWLA All-Conference Teams

All-Conference First Team   
 A Jessica Bartlett Fitchburg St. Jr
 A Riley Cachelin Bridgewater St. Fr
 A Kelly Finamore Fitchburg St.  Sr 
 M Taylor Clancy Bridgewater St. So
 M Bridget Dullea Salem St. Jr
 M Carly Keeley Westfield  St.  Sr 
 M Kerry Kiley Framingham St. Sr 
 M Maura Stack Westfield St.  Jr 
 D Shelby Farland Bridgewater St.  Jr
 D Sadie Graham  Westfield St.  Jr
 D Carissa Kennedy Fitchburg St.  Jr
 GK Rachel Schrutt Elms  Sr 
All-Conference Second Team   
 A Melanie Appleman Bridgewater St. So
 A Amanda Bouchard  Westfield St.  Fr 
 A Nicole DiPilato Westfield St. Sr 
 M Markie Apple Fitchburg St.  So 
 M Jaclyn Lawlor Worcester St.  Fr 
 M Brittany McLean Framingham St.  Sr 
 M Michelle Navoni Bridgewater St. Jr
 M Kaitlyn Shidler Salem St.  Sr 
 D Jen Carew Westfield St.  So 
 D Courtney Robinson Framingham St.  Jr
 D Braylan Wenzel Bridgewater St.  So
GK Tenley Gillett Mass. Maritime Fr 
Offensive Player of the Year   
M Carly Keeley Westfield St. Sr
Defensive Player of the Year   
D Shelby Farland
Bridgewater St. Jr
Goalkeeper of the Year   
GK Rachel Schrutt Elms Sr
Rookie of the Year   
GK Rachel Schrutt Elms Sr
Scholar-Athlete of the Year   
D Catherine O'Neill
Salem St. Sr
Coach of the Year   
  Tara Sartori Salem St.
Team Sportsmanship Award   
  Mass. Maritime