2009 NEWLA All-Conference Teams Announced

2009 NEWLA All-Conference Teams Announced

The New England Women's Lacrosse Alliance has announced its post-season honors. In a vote by the conference coaches, Castleton sophomore midfielder Marie VanDerKar was named NEWLA Offensive Player of the Year. VanDerKar was among the league leaders in goals (29), ground balls (30), draw controls (29) and caused turnovers (11) leading the Spartans to a 6-1 mark in conference play.

Bridgewater State defender Erin Quimby was honored as the NEWLA Defensive Player of the Year. During conference play, the sophomore picked up 20 ground balls and caused 11 turnovers while scoring three times and assisting on four others from her defensive position for the Bears.  Quimby led a Bridgewater State defense that led the league allowing just 8.86 goals per conference contest posting a perfect 7-0 record in conference play.

Fitchburg State first year midfielder Amanda Burns was chosen as the NEWLA Rookie of the Year. Burns led the league in gound balls per game (5.0) and caused turnovers (2.29) while scoring 24 goals in seven contests.

Castleton senior Nicole Adams was selected the NEWLA Scholar-Athlete of the Year. A leader on and off the field, Adams is the Castleton record holder for assists in a season having contributed on 32 tallies this season. During conference play, the senior attacker scored 19 goals with 17 assists while posting a 3.7 GPA in Sociology.  

Westfield State's Greg Styles was honored as the NEWLA Coach of the Year honors in a vote of his peers. NEWLA all-conference selections are determined by a vote of the conference coaches.


2009 NEWLA All-Conference Teams

All-Conference First Team
A Katie DeMaio Bridgewater St. Jr
A Shannon Feeley Worcester St. Sr
A Jenny Jones Bridgewater St. So
M Amanda Burns Fitchburg Fr
M Rachel Costa Westfield St. Sr
M Shannon Manning Bridgewater St. Jr
M Tammy Mullen Becker So
M Marie VanDerKar Castleton So
D Rachel Dionne Westfield St. So
D Katelyn Greene Castleton Sr
D Carissa Kennedy Fitchburg St. Fr
D Erin Quimby Bridgewater St. So
All-Conference Second Team
A Nicole Adams Castleton Sr
A Laura Chiricosta Westfield St. So
A Brittany Jamieson Worcester St. Jr
A Nicole Lijana Becker Fr
A Stephanie Pearce Castleton Jr
A Emily Swan Fitchburg St. Jr
M Courtney Lennon Bridgewater St. So
D Kim Cosenza Worcester St. Sr
D Connie Perry Fitchburg So
D Deedee Schroeder Castleton Sr
D Kim Vail Worcester St. Jr
Offensive Player of the Year
M Marie VanDerKar Castleton So
Defensive Player of the Year
D Erin Quimby Bridgewater St. So
Rookie of the Year
M Amanda Burns Fitchburg St. Fr
Scholar-Athlete of the Year
A Nicole Adams Castleton Sr
Coach of the Year
  Greg Styles Westfield St.