2008 NEWLA All-Conference Teams Announced

2008 NEWLA All-Conference Teams Announced

The New England Women's Lacrosse Alliance has announced its post-season honors. In a vote by the conference coaches, Bridgewater State sophomore midfielder Shannon Manning was named NEWLA Offensive Player of the Year. Manning led the conference in draw controls and caused turnovers and points during league play scoring 18 times with 29 assists.

Bridgewater State defender Adrienne Berkland was honored as the NEWLA Defensive Player of the Year. During conference play, the senior picked up 16 ground balls and caused 13 turnovers while scoring five times from her defensive position for the Bears.

Bridgewater first year attacker Jenny Jones was chosen as the NEWLA Rookie of the Year. Jones was among the league leaders averaging four goals per conference contest.

Bridgewater senior Alison Gugliotta was selected the NEWLA Scholar-Athlete of the Year. A two year captain and four year player for the Bears who will graduate in December, Gugliotta has posted a 3.8 GPA in Chemistry while scoring 11 goals and assisting on 12 others for Bridgewater this season during conference play.

Castleton head coach Tammy Landon was honored by her peers as the NEWLA Coach of the Year.

NEWLA all-conference selections are determined by a vote of the conference coaches.

2008 NEWLA All-Conference Teams

All-Conference First Team 
A Nicole Bouchard Castleton Sr
A Laura Chiricosta Westfield St. Fr
A Katie DeMaio Bridgewater St. So
M Caitlin Childs Elms Sr
M Shannon Manning Bridgewater St. So
M Ashley Massa Fitchburg St. Sr
M Tammy Mullen Becker Fr
M Marie VanDerKar Castleton Fr
D Adrienne Berkland Bridgewater St. Sr
D Rachel Dionne Westfield St. Fr
D DeeDee Schroeder Castleton Jr
GK Lyndsey Nunes Worcester St. Sr
All-Conference Second Team 
A Nicole Adams Castleton So
A Shannon Feeley Worcester St. Jr
A Jenny Jones Bridgewater St. Fr
D Raemarie Josefiak Elms Sr
GK Meredith Pope Castleton Sr
M Lauryn Serratore Bridgewater St. Sr
Offensive Player of the Year   
M Shannon Manning Bridgewater St. So
Defensive Player of the Year 
D Adrienne Berkland Bridgewater St. Sr
Coach of the Year 
  Tammy Landon Castleton
Rookie of the Year   
A Jenny Jones Bridgewater St. Fr
Scholar-Athlete of the Year   
A Alison Gugliotta Bridgewater St. Sr