NEWLA historical timeline:

Shannon Pizzingrilli of Western New England College; three-time NEWLA Scholar Athlete-of-the-Year (2002-04) and NEWLA Offensive Player-of-the-year (2004).

1998 - NEWLA is formed and accepted as an NCAA non-voting conference by the Division III Management Council in January of 1998. The original members consisted of two playing divisions. A North division consisting of Castleton State, Colby Sawyer, Keene State, New England College, University of New England and Plymouth State, and a South division consisting of Bridgewater State, Elms College, Endicott, Eastern Connecticut State and Mass.-Dartmouth.

1999 - Lasell, Salve Regina, Southern Maine, Western Connecticut State and WNEC join the NEWLA.

2002 - Five members of the Commonwealth Coast Conference (CCC), Colby Sawyer, Endicott, University of New England, Salve Regina and New England College, leave to form a women's lacrosse sponsorship within the CCC.

2002 - Six members of the Little East Conference leave to form a women's lacrosse sponsorship within their primary conference; Plymouth State, Keene State, Southern Maine, Eastern Connecticut State, Mass.-Dartmouth and Western Connecticut State.

2002 - Salem State and Worcester State join the remaining six members.

2004 - Emerson College joins the NEWLA. Salem State leaves the NEWLA.

2005 - Bridgewater State leaves the NEWLA.

2005 - Thomas College joins the NEWLA

2007 - Norwich University joins the NEWLA.

2008 - Becker, Bridgewater State, Fitchburg State and Westfield State join the NEWLA. Four members of the Great Northeast Conference, Emerson, Lasell, Norwich and WNEC, depart the NEWLA to form a women's lacrosse sponsorship within their primary conference.

2010 - Thomas College leaves the NEWLA to play within their primary conference. Framingham State joins the NEWLA.

2012 - NEWLA disbands. Following the 2012 season, the nine members began play within their primary conferences. Seven will play as part of the Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference (MASCAC) and two will compete within the NECC.

For historical information contact: Robb Modica (